Review: Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better by Madisen Kuhn

 

Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better by Madisen Kuhn will be available May 1st!

Read my thoughts on this poetry book!

 

 

Discover this exquisite poetry and prose collection about the pains of growing up from the popular millennial Instagram poet, perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur.

Following her breakout debut Eighteen Years, poet Madisen Kuhn is thrilled to share this intimate portrait of a young woman navigating early adulthood and leaving her teenage years behind.

Chronicling the complexities, joys, and challenges of this transitional phase of life, Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better is a powerful, deeply affecting work that pierces your heart with its refreshing candor and vulnerability. A poignant exploration of self-image, self-discovery, and self-reflection, this anthology brilliantly captures the universal experience of growing up, and you are bound to find yourself reflected in these glimmering pages.

 

Barnes & Noble

Amazon

Books-A-Million

Indiebound

 

Madisen Kuhn has written my favorite poetry book so far. I’d never related to more stories, pain and growth like I did with this book. Some pieces were just too accurate and others were just what I needed. Illustrated with simply amazing drawings Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better is a heart wrenching book filled with poetry pieces about loving, hurting, knowing that sometimes you are hard to love, how you’re loving and sacrificing things for someone who might not love you back and learning to be alone.

One of my (many) favorite quotes reads:

“we can sit in silence
while the world around us buzzes
with all its certain chaos and
my soul will find yours
in the space that rests above
this mess of existing”

Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better won its way up to my favorite poetry book because it’s incredibly real. It’s not only about loving and getting hurt, it’s about being flawed and learning to be alone, which is something I’ve struggled with for a while now until I read the pieces in this book. I now want to go out and dance and be myself and take on the world without loving who doesn’t love me back. I don’t feel like a new person after reading this book, I feel like my own self with a new, better, mindset.

I thank the stars for putting this book in my path and Madisen Kuhn for writing the book that helped me see life with new eyes.

 

Massive thanks to Gallery Books for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

 

5 / 5 flowers

Madisen Kuhn is a writer and photographer living in Charlottesville, Virginia. She likes to explore topics of identity, belonging, sexuality, and mental illness in her work. In 2015, she self-published Eighteen Years, a collection of over two-hundred poems. She writes a monthly column for Local Wolves magazine and is currently pursuing a BFA in Studio and Digital Arts.

Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Website 

 

Check these out:

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *